

Daily update (31 May 2024, 12noon)

Topics in this Core Brief:

• Celebrating Success Award winners 2024

Celebrating Success Staff Event

Last night our prestigious Celebrating Success Staff Event took place which kicked off by recognising members of our staff who have dedicated 50 years of service and more to the NHS. They are Evelyn Cloggie; Mary Murphy; Margaret Towland; Mary Armour; Anne King; Glen Stevenson; Anne Hair; Christine Peterson; Sarah Campbell; Violet MacKay; Maureen Livingstone; Michael Manison; Stuart Reid; Patricia Coyne and Margaret McDougall.

Thank you for your outstanding contribution!



Local Award winners

There were 29 awards award categories ranging from our local award winners to the Chair's Award for Excellence. You can see a gallery of images from the night and find out all about the winners on our <u>website</u>.

The Overall Winners in the Local Awards were recognised for delivering exceptional performance and really going the extra mile. Congratulations to all of our winners!

- 1. Acute Services: Clyde Sector Royal Alexandra Hospital Stroke Multi-Disciplinary Team
- 2. Acute Services: North Sector Thomas Cybulski
- 3. Acute Services: South Sector Ophthalmology Service
- 4. Diagnostics Total Skin Electron Beam Therapy Team
- 5. East Dunbartonshire HSCP Douglas Bell
- 6. East Renfrewshire HSCP East Renfrewshire Pharmacy Team
- 7. eHealth The Development and Informatics and Business Intelligence Teams
- 8. Estates and Facilities Jennifer Materne
- 9. Finance Andrew Molloy
- 10. Glasgow City HSCP Martha's Mammies
- 11. Human Resources and Organisational Development Teaching and Learning Centre Reception Team
- 12. Inverclyde HSCP Aileen Wilson
- 13. Pharmacy Michelle Stevenson
- 14. Public Health Community Food Team
- 15. Regional Services Graeme Crockett
- 16. Renfrewshire HSCP Delayed Discharge Team
- 17. West Dunbartonshire HSCP Morven Cowie
- 18. Women and Children's Nelly Delwani

<u>Click here</u> for more information on each of the winners.

As in previous years, we once again had the opportunity to present the William Cullen Prizes in collaboration with the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh.

The William Cullen Prize for Education was presented to joint winners; Professor Keith Muir and Dr Wazim Izzath and Judith Roulston, while the William Cullen Prize for Innovation was presented to Dr Lucy Carrick.

In the seven Excellence Awards categories, we had winners from across NHSGGC. You can read more about each winner by clicking on the link below.

The **Better Care** award recognises staff who provide and contribute towards incredible patient care. The winner was the Transoral Robotic Surgery Team.

Our **Better Health** award commends staff who have implemented an initiative to improve the health and wellbeing of patients, the public and/or staff. The winner was the Meander for Mental Health Team.

The **Better Value** award is for staff who have increased efficiencies taking a new approach to work making better use of resources. The joint winners were Staffbank Service Team and the Digital Psychological Therapies Team.

The **Better Workplace** award recognises the often unseen work of our staff who help make NHSGGC a better workplace, improving the culture and supporting colleagues. The winner was the Acute Services Professional Administration Transformation Programme.

Our **Global Citizenship** award recognises staff who have travelled overseas to provide healthcare and/or education in developing countries or countries in crisis. The winner was Dr Ceilidh Dunn.

The **Nursing** award recognises nurses who demonstrate the best qualities of patient care and the ethos of nursing. The winner was Renfrewshire Care Home Nursing Team.

While the **Volunteer** award recognises people who go the extra mile contributing tirelessly and providing outstanding help and support for the benefit of others. The winner was the Hub Café Volunteers, Gartnavel Royal Hospital.

Click here for more information on all the winners.

The evening finished on a tremendous high with the presentation of not one but two Chair's Awards of Excellence. These awards recognised outstanding achievement, expertise and dedication in patient care.

The winners of these awards are;

Dr Mike Basler who, since 2017, has accompanied the plastic surgery team at GRI visiting Ghana to provide anaesthetic care to patients and courses for local staff. For his last trip before retirement, Dr Basler pulled together a larger team of anaesthetic consultants and trainees to provide a more ambitious programme of teaching along with anaesthetic support in theatre.

The Teenage and Young Adult Cancer Team for organising a residential trip for young people who have or are currently suffering with a cancer diagnosis. They developed the programme, facilitated the activities, bought the food and prepared all the meals, whilst still managing their clinical roles.

Congratulations to all of the winners and everyone nominated!

Finally, we are pleased to announce that a total of £2,809 was raised for Maggie's charity through donations on the night!



It is important to share Core Brief with colleagues who do not have access to a computer. A full archive of printable PDFs are available on the <u>website</u>